WTF

I made it 30 days, and i made it to the tail end of my 7th meeting to pick up a chip for my efforts. My parents were making a special trip into town to celebrate. Well, at least, that’s what we had discussed. I texted a picture of my chip to my parents, some close friends, and the girl that im seeing. Everyone except for my parents responded with enthusiastic support. When I met my parents at the restaurant a little while later, my mom asked what wine we were drinking. I looked at her and cocked my head to the side, widened my eyeballs and said, “im celebrating 30 days of sobriety today.” On top of that bullshit, my dad, who is an alcoholic himself and a shining example of WHY i should stay sober, was in a pissy whiny mood, pretty much his baseline lately. So, what was supposed to be a celebratory supper turned rather quickly into something difficult to stomach the 50 minutes we were in the restaurant. I’m not sure why im supposed to devote life energy on situations that arent joyful and in fact, are detrimental to my mental health, downright toxic. The good thing that came of it all is that i was able to practice enough self control not to flip out on both of these people at the supper table. TANSTAAFL

2 thoughts on “WTF

  1. Sorry to hear your parents behaved the way they did. How disappointing.
    Really cool of you to hold your line and stay sober… those weird family things can be a trigger for hitting the booze!
    And congratulations on 30 days. 👍🏼

    Like

Leave a Reply

